What Are the Five Days of Diwali?

Quck answer

Diwali, also known as the Festival of Lights, is a major Hindu festival celebrated over a period of five days. Each day of Diwali has its own significance and traditions.

1. Day 1 – Dhanteras: People clean their homes, decorate them with lamps, and worship the goddess of wealth, Goddess Lakshmi. It is considered auspicious to buy gold, silver, or other items on this day.

2. Day 2 – Naraka Chaturdashi: This day marks the victory of Lord Krishna over the demon Narakasura. People wake up early, take a bath, and apply oil to their bodies before sunrise. They also light lamps to symbolize the victory of light over darkness.

3. Day 3 – Diwali: The main day of the festival, when people light oil lamps and candles in and around their homes to welcome Goddess Lakshmi. Families gather for a feast and exchange gifts. Fireworks are also a common part of the celebration.

4. Day 4 – Govardhan Puja: This day commemorates Lord Krishna’s victory over Lord Indra. People build small mountains of cow dung and worship them. It is also a day to express gratitude towards nature and animals.

5. Day 5 – Bhai Dooj: This is a day to celebrate the bond between brothers and sisters. Sisters apply a tilak on their brothers’ foreheads and pray for their well-being. Brothers give gifts to their sisters as a token of love.

Overall, the five days of Diwali are filled with joy, light, and various religious rituals that symbolize different aspects of Hindu mythology and culture.

India is the largest democratic country globally. It is known for its rich biodiversity, including tigers, rhinos, and it is also home to 18 percent of the world’s population. Apart from that, India is famous for its Bollywood industry. Today, we will explore another significant aspect of Indian culture, which is the festival of Diwali!

What is Diwali? Diwali is also known as Divali or Deepavali. The name originates from the Sanskrit word “dipavali,” which means “row of lights” in English. It is the grandest annual celebration in India.

Have you ever attended a Diwali celebration? If yes, then you must be aware of why it is often referred to as the Festival of Lights. It is customary for families and communities to light candles and clay lamps, both indoors and outdoors, to illuminate the night. Some families also celebrate the occasion with fireworks.

When is Diwali? This five-day festival is centered around the New Moon and falls in the Hindu month of Kartik. According to the Gregorian calendar, it usually falls in October or November. Although the third day of Diwali is considered the peak of the festival, many families observe all five days.

The first day of Diwali is called Dhanteras. On this day, it is customary to clean the house thoroughly. Many people also buy gold items on this auspicious day. Those who follow the Hindu faith may also choose to worship Lakshmi, the goddess of wealth and fortune.

Choti Diwali is the second day of the festival. It is a time for families to decorate their homes. Many individuals make clay lamps and place them around their houses. They may also create a rangoli, which is a vibrant design made with sand or powder.

The third day of Diwali is known as Lakshmi Puja. It is the main day of the festival, where clay lamps, candles, and fireworks can be seen throughout India. People following Hinduism also seek blessings from the goddess Lakshmi on this day. Most celebrations include a grand feast as well.

On the fourth day, which is Goverdhan Puja, people visit their friends and relatives. It is common to exchange gifts during this time. In Hindu tradition, this day also marks the beginning of the new year.

Lastly, Bhai Dooj is the fifth and final day of Diwali. It is a celebration of the special bond between siblings. Traditionally, adult brothers visit their sisters’ homes on this day and often bring gifts. In return, sisters prepare a feast and pray for the well-being and protection of their brothers.

Most people who celebrate Diwali belong to the Hindu religion. However, the festival also holds significance in Sikhism and Jainism. Some Buddhists even observe Diwali. It is also common for non-religious individuals living in India to partake in the festivities.

People of Indian descent also celebrate Diwali in various other countries around the world. Have you ever attended a Diwali celebration? Which part of the festival did you enjoy the most?

Try It Out

Find a friend or family member to assist you with these activities!

  • Diwali, the largest holiday celebration in Hindu culture, is not the only one. In fact, there are numerous other festivals! Take a look at this article highlighting 10 significant Hindu festivals. Are you surprised by the quantity? Which one is your favorite? Perhaps you enjoy the lanterns of Diwali, the colorful powders of Holi, or even the sports competitions of Onam. Share your newfound knowledge with a friend or family member.
  • In today’s Wonder, each day of the five-day Diwali festival was described. Choose the day that sounds the most enjoyable to you and jot down a plan for how you would celebrate that day. Who would you spend the day with? What foods would you consume? Which activities would you engage in? Share your plan with a friend or family member.
  • Diwali, also known as the festival of lights, is renowned for its decorative candles, lanterns, and clay lamps that illuminate the night. Now it’s time to create your own lantern! Enlist the help of a family member for this activity.

Wonder Sources

  • https://www.britannica.com/topic/Diwali-Hindu-festival (accessed 12 Oct. 2021)
  • https://kids.nationalgeographic.com/pages/article/diwali (accessed 12 Oct. 2021)
  • https://www.diwalifestival.org/ (accessed 12 Oct. 2021)
  • https://www.history.com/news/the-ancient-origins-of-indias-biggest-holiday (accessed 12 Oct. 2021)
  • https://www.almanac.com/content/diwali (accessed 12 Oct. 2021)
  • https://learnersdictionary.com/ (accessed 12 Oct. 2021)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *